Excellence in Communications Awards

The North Carolina Association of Government Information Officers invites you to find out how your communications projects and products compare to your peers by entering the annual Excellence in Communications Awards Competition. Winners will be announced during our annual seminar. Winning entries will be posted on this website.


Revised: 5 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2018

Entry Fee

Free to members. If you are not a member and would like to enter, you must pay the annual membership fee of $10.

To enter

All entries should be sent electronically using our online form. Use the button below to complete the application online for each award and attach a PDF or provide a link to your entry materials.


Any material distributed between Oct. 1, 2017 and Sept. 30, 2018. Entry must be the original work of a NCAGIO member. Other rules include:

  • Limit of three entries total per member. (For example, an individual could have two entries for Social Media and one for News Release/Feature Writing).
  • All entries should be the original work of the member who is submitting them. If the work was created or performed by a team, the team leader should submit the work. Work performed/materials created by independent contractors (i.e. public relations and marketing firms) will not be eligible to receive an award.
  • Each entry should be submitted via the web form. Video entries must be a link.
  • Entries must have a time stamp no later than 5 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2018.

Judging is done by communications professionals. Judges reserve the right to determine multiple winners or no winners in any of the categories. The decision of the judges is final. Winners will be notified prior to the annual meeting. Award certificates will be presented at the NCAGIO annual seminar.




Please contact Michele Burton.